Contact Your Board Members

Director District No. 1:
Mike Jansen - WIAA Representative
Phone: (206)227-8013
Service began 2009
Term Expires November 2017

Director District No. 2
Tawny Sanabria
Service began 2013
Term Expires November 2015


Director District No. 3
Denise Vogel - Board President
Phone: (253)891-0538
Appointed June 2005
Elected November 2005, 2009, 2013
Term Expires November 2017

Director District No. 4
Cassie Pearson
Phone: (360)829-0519
Service began 2009
Term Expries November 2017

Director District No. 5
Jean Lacy - Legislative Representative
Phone: (253)862-9715
Service began 1999
Elected November 2011
Term Expires November 2015


White River School District Board of Directors

Susan McGuire, Mike Jansen, Jean Lacy, Denise Vogel (Chair), Cassie Pearson,
and Superintendent Tom Lockyer

2010 and 2011 Washington State School Directors Association
Board of Distinction

What Do School Boards Do?

In general terms, the “job” of a school board in Washington is to make “ample” provision for the education of all children. More specifically, there are four major areas of responsibility which can be classified as providing for:

1) A quality instructional program within the limits of the resources.

2) Management and direction of the school system.

3) Continued guidance through policy development and adoption.

4) Communication between the district and the community.

The School Board

- Elected by voters
- Conducts strategic planning
- Hires and oversees the superintendent
- Adopts the school district budget
- Creates policy for schools in the district
- Oversees the school district
- Represents voters